The town of Kostroma was founded in XII century by Yury Dolgoruky. The central part of the town boasts the unique architecture ensemble of late XVIII – early XIX centuries.
The Ipatievsky (St. Ipaty) Monastery (according to the legend dates to XIII century), boasts among its constructions the Trinity Cathedral. The Architecture and Ethnography Museum is also located on the territory of the Ipatievsky Monastery.
The Wood Architecture Museum represents the collection of the magnificent architecture monuments of XVI-XIV centuries, which reflect the mastery of carpenters, the Old Russian artists.
The Church of Resurrection-on-the-Debra belongs to 1652. The inner walls of the parvis preserve the fragments of the XVII century frescos. The carved iconostasis of XVII century from the side-chapel is the precious possession of Kostroma. Till recently the most ancient and the most honoured relic of Kostroma – the Fedorovsky Holy Virgin Icon (XIII century) has been restored here.