The Peter and Paul fortress was founded on a small island in the delta of the river Neva in 1703 to protect the area from possible attacks. The day of its construction became the birthday of the city of St. Petersburg. In the XVIII century the fortress was used as a political prison for the state criminals and revolutionaries. Starting from 1924 it has been a museum. The multiple buildings and constructions house memorial exhibitions and expositions.
Peter and Paul Cathedral, built by architect D.Tresini. The construction started in 1712. Many Russian emperors (Peter the Great and others, including the last Russian Tsar Nicolas II) were buried in this Cathedral. Trubetskoy Bastion Prison – the first prisoner of this jail was the son of Peter the Great, Prince Alexey.
Intere sting buildings located on the territory of the fortress: Commandant’s house, the Boat house, the Artillery house, the guardhouse, the Mint house; in the Print house visitors can witness ancient printing methods.
Daily 10:00 – 18:00. Closed: Wednesdays.